

OFMF OUR GOVERNANCE HISTORY, MISSION, OFFICE STAFF, PRESIDENTS

Revised: January 24th, 2024



OFMF HISTORY

At one time, Ontario had 3 associations that represented trappers.

1947: TA = Trappers Association was formed in Sudbury

- **1959**: OTA = Ontario Trappers Council established
- **1992:** OFMC = Ontario Fur Managers Corporation

incorporated

1995: Renamed the Ontario Fur Managers Federation (OFMF) which was recognized by Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Mandate & Mission

- Mandate: Managing Ontario's Furbearers for today and tomorrow.
- Our Mission:
 - To promote the conservation and sustainability of fur bearers & the ecosystem.
 - To promote the general welfare of the trappers of Ontario.
 - To promote the humane harvest of fur bearers on a continual basis.
 - To promote and participate in the continuing education of fur harvesters.
 - To promote and participate in public education and awareness.
 - To represent the trappers of Ontario in any and all resource management issues.



OFMF Office

- The OFMF office is located in Sault Ste. Marie, a central place for all trappers to gather.
- The office staff consists of a general manager and office support.



Office in 1995

Office in 2022



OFMF Staff

 Since it's inception, the following people have been overseeing the day-to-day operations of the OFMF.

General Managers

1965-1997: Ron Lessard was loaned by MNR in Sault Ste Marie to be an interim GM.
1997-2008: Howard Noseworthy
2009: Barry Cordingley
2010: Brett Rob
2011-2022: Robin Horwath
2022-present: Lauren Tonelli

Support Staff

1995-1996: Sharon Gervais
1997-present: Lisa Ouellette
2013-present: Mackenzie LaRochelle



LtoR: Ron Lessard, Howard Noseworthy, Barry Cordingley, Brett Rob, Robin Horwath, Lauren Tonelli



PRESIDENTS

Every organization needs a strong leader to help provide guidance and direction. At the OFMF, we have Presidents who chair meetings, represent the Federation at various functions, and liaise with government officials all on a volunteer basis.



Presidents

• 2019-Present : Scott Sears



*See next slide for Presidents before 2019!



Presidents

• 2017-2019 : Willis Deline

• 2016-2017 : Carmen Cotnoir

• 2014-2016 : John Fitchett

• 2010-2014 : Karl Lindstrom







Presidents

• 2007-2010 : Robin Horwath

• 2003-2007 : Conrad Morin

• 2000-2003 : Laurie Whyte

• 1995-2000 : Murray Monk







